Mr Derek La Ferla

Independent Non-executive Chairman

Member of the Audit and Risk Committee,  Remuneration and Nomination Committee and Sustainability Committee

Qualifications: B.Arts, B. Juris, B.Law, Fellow of AICD

Mr La Ferla is a corporate lawyer and company director with more than 30 years’ experience. He has held senior positions with some of Australia‘s leading law firms and a variety of board positions with listed public companies and not for profit organisations. Mr La Ferla is currently a Partner (on a part time basis) with Western Australian firm, Lavan and is Chairman of Veris Limited (previously called OTOC Limited) and Threat Protect Australia Limited. He is also a Non-Executive Director of Goldfields Money Limited. Mr La Ferla is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a member of the AICD Council (WA Division).

Mr Karl M Simich

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Qualifications: B.Com, FCA, F.Fin

Mr Simich is an experienced international mining executive who has been involved in the financing, construction, development and operation of various mining projects in New Zealand, Australia and Africa. Specialising in resource finance and corporate management, Mr Simich has been a director of and held senior positions with a number of ASX-listed mining companies. Mr Simich is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia and has completed post-graduate studies in business and finance.

Mr Robert Scott

Independent Non-Executive Director

Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee

Qualifications: FCA

Mr Scott is a Chartered Accountant and former international partner with major global accounting firms with over 35 years’ experience in corporate structuring and taxation planning. He has served as a Chairman and as non-executive director with various publicly listed resource companies with operational experience in Australia, USA and Asia and has a strong focus on project governance, audit and risk management. Mr Scott holds a Fellowship of the Australian Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Taxation Institute of Australia and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Scott has served as the Chairman of Homeloans Ltd and as a Non-Executive Director of RTG Mining Inc.

Mr Paul Hallam

Independent Non-Executive Director

Chairman of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and member of the Audit and Risk Committee

Qualifications: BE (Hons) Mining, FAICD, FAusIMM

Mr Hallam has more than 40 years Australian and international resource industry experience. His operating and corporate experience is across a range of commodities (iron ore, bauxite, alumina, aluminium, gold, silver, copper, zinc and lead) and includes both surface and underground mining. Mr Hallam retired in 2011 to pursue a career as a professional non-executive director. He has held Australian and international non-executive director roles since 1997.

His former executive roles include Director – Operations with Fortescue Metals Group, Executive General Manager – Development & Projects with Newcrest Mining Limited, Director - Victorian Operations with Alcoa and Executive General Manager - Base and Precious Metals with North Ltd. In these and previous roles Mr Hallam has held site and corporate accountability for all site functions plus sales and marketing, stakeholder management, capital projects and regulatory oversite and management for multiple mining operations. Mr Hallam is a qualified mining engineer and holds a BE (Hons) from Melbourne University and a Certificate of Mineral Economics from Curtin University. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australasian Institute of Mining & Metallurgy.

Ms Maree Arnason

Independent Non-Executive Director

Chair of the Sustainability Committee and member of the Audit and Risk Committee

Qualifications: B.Arts, GAICD

Ms Arnason is an experienced director and senior executive whose career has spanned 30 years in the resources, energy and manufacturing sectors with companies including BHP, Carter Holt Harvey and Wesfarmers and has significant leadership expertise working in complex corporate and project environments with a focus on risk and reputation. Ms Arnason is a Co-Founder/Director of Energy Access Services, who operate an automated and independent Western Australian-focused wholesale gas trading platform and is a member of the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) Director Advisory Panel. An active not-for-profit contributor for 25 years, Ms Arnason serves on CEDA’s (Committee for Economic Development of Australia) WA State Advisory Council, the Juniper Board - one of WA’s largest aged care community benefit organisations and is a life member and past National Director of the Australia China Business Council. Maree was recognised as one of the Top100 Global Inspirational Women in Mining in 2018.

Dr Roric Smith

Independent Non-Executive Director

Member of the Sustainability Committee

Qualifications: B.Sc (Hons) Geology, Ph.D Geology

Dr Smith is a highly experienced geologist with extensive Australian and international experience and is currently a Non-Executive Director of Saracen Mineral Holdings Limited. Until June 2016, Dr Smith was Vice President, Discovery and Chief Geologist for Evolution, where he played a key role in leading that company’s exploration efforts. Prior to joining Evolution, Dr Smith held numerous senior executive positions with the gold producer AngloGold Ashanti, including as Senior Vice President, Global Greenfield Exploration; Country Manager and Chief Representative China; Exploration Manager - North Asia Region; and Chief Geologist Australia. Dr Smith holds a B.Sc (Hons) Geology and Ph.D from the University of Natal in South Africa.